Hazardous material information

Classes according to ADR

The ADR contains the following classes of dangerous goods:

  • Class 1 Explosive substances and articles containing explosives
  • Class 2 Gases
  • Class 3 Flammable liquids
  • Class 4.1 Flammable solids, self-reactive substances and desensitized explosive solids
  • Class 4.2 Substances liable to spontaneous combustion
  • Class 4.3 Substances which, in contact with water, emit flammable gases
  • Class 5.1 Flammable (oxidizing) substances
  • Class 5.2 Organic peroxides
  • Class 6.1 Toxic substances
  • Class 6.2 Infectious substances
  • Class 7 Radioactive substances
  • Class 8 Corrosive substances                 
  • Class 9 Miscellaneous dangerous substances and articles

Each entry in the various classes is assigned a UN number. Certain substances may be assigned to packing groups for packing purposes on the basis of their degree of danger. These packing groups have the following meaning: 

  • Packing group I: Substances with high hazard
  • Packing group II: Substances with medium hazard
  • Packing group III: Substances with low hazard

The 3rd position of the packaging code number contains a letter indicating the substance groups for which the packaging type is approved:

  • X for packaging for substances in packaging groups I to III;
  • Y for packaging for substances in packaging groups II and III;
  • Z for packaging for substances in packaging group III.

Disclaimer of liability:
This service, which we make available to you free of charge, does not guarantee that the information provided is complete, correct and up-to-date in every case. As a user of this service, it is your responsibility to check the information provided yourself. You are responsible for implementing the knowledge gained at your own discretion.